July 13, 2024
Bernstein: Serenade; McLean: Elements Brian Lewis, violin/ London Symphony Orchestra/ Hugh Wolff, conductor, Delos
Delos International is proud to announce a new debut release featuring violinist Brian Lewis and Maestro Hugh Wolff. This exciting offering teams up Delos International with an acknowledged masterpiece by Leonard Bernstein and a new composition by leading contemporary composer Michael McLean.

Bernstein's Serenade for Violin, String Orchestra, Harp and Percussion, a dazzling, composition originally written for Isaac Stern to play with the Israel Philharmonic, was inspired by a text by Plato. It is both a concerto and a symphonic commentary on ideas expressed in Plato's Symposium. The Inspiration for McLean's Elements was none other than the mesmerizing virtuosity of violin soloist Brian Lewis. The four movements of Elements - Earth, Fire, Air, Water - encompass a spiritual and evocative performance which perfectly highlights the artistry of Brian Lewis in tandem with the London Symphony Orchestra conducted by Maestro Wolff.

Brian Lewis has established himself as one of today's most versatile talents and charismatic young violinists. In addition to debuts at both Carnegie Hall and Avery Fisher Hall, Lincoln Center, Mr. Lewis can be heard internationally in recital. Maestro Hugh Wolff ranks among the leading American conductors of his generation. His partnership with the LSO and Delos International celebrates his admirable talents.
McLean: Pieces
Original compositions and arrangements by Michael McLean for two violins and piano performed by Brian Lewis, violin, Michael McLean, violin, and Laura Kennedy, piano.
Avalon: Violin Sonata, Flute Sonata, Sextet with Soprano
Brian Lewis performs Robert Avalon's beautiful violin sonata with the composer at the pano.
McLean: Care to Tango?
Fourteen of Michael McLean's brilliant arrangements and compositions for two and three violins and piano. Performers are Brian Lewis, Barbara Barber, Michael McLean and Kate Stevens.
spinner gif